News and Announcements

What's news on Wolfing?

15 December 2014 04:38 PM Posted by: WolfKodi

Introducing Wolfing's Blocking FeatureViews: 1480

While Wolfing offers a wonderful way to have fun and keep in touch with friends with similar interest, as with any social network, there is potential for people you would rather not be in touch with or have them contact you. Our privacy is our basic right. There are times when we do not want to share our custom poses or public room activity with certain individuals. The option to block also allows you to take immediate action against users who may decide to notoriously spam your inbox or wrack havoc in rooms especially when a Wolfing Leader is not immediately available to take control of the situation.

There are currently two ways you can block someone. First, by clicking on their character while in a room. Second, by visiting their profile and using the block option that shows up there. There are also currently two ways to unblock someone. You can either visit their profile or by managing your block list. You can find the option to manage your block list under your account settings page.



What happens when you block someone on Wolfing? People you block can no longer see any of your messages, interactions, images, and videos that you share in rooms. They will not be able to see your character including any poses that you use. They will also not be able to whisper to you, howl a comment or reply to any comments on your profile, or send you a private message (PM). Blocking is done discreetly. The person won't be notified that they've been blocked.

Keep in mind that blocking someone may not prevent all interactions, such as knowing who has the remote in a video room, and only affects your experience on Wolfing, not elsewhere on the web. Blocking is reciprocal, so you also would no longer be able to do any of the above as well unless you unblock them. This may come in handy when you would like to immediately block a pose that might be disturbing to you. Also note that blocking a person does not automatically unfriend them. You will have to unfriend them to stop receiving their Howl updates on your Pack Howls.

Christmas is a time of sharing, and not a time of introducing a blocking feature. However, this blocking feature has been highly anticipated by those who will find benefit from it. It is a basic social feature that I have long wanted to get done and I am glad I have.


Howls (20)

Please login or register to comment
Post
Copy direct link to this Howl
AlphaWolf 4 years, 4 months ago
Don't block Rico! xD
Copy direct link to this Howl
Equestrians101 4 years, 5 months ago
Thank you kodi, some users have been rude and I think it was not fair that other users had to be uncomfortable to stay in the room. Once again, thank you!!!
Copy direct link to this Howl
Spin 4 years, 5 months ago
Could not ask for remote in HDTV room because people blocked me simply for existing. 1/10
Copy direct link to this Howl
not really liking this since it makes the chats look like a trainwreck since the blocker's presence is erased for the blockee entirely as well for some reason?
Copy direct link to this Howl
firejack 4 years, 5 months ago
This blocking feature has many flaws and I feel its like trying to put a band-aid on a burst water main, it won't work.
Copy direct link to this Howl
Vogul 4 years, 5 months ago
Good feature, except kids are using it for every little misunderstanding and disagreement and then cry how everybody is hating them (I'm not even over exaggerating!).

When somebody blocks you same happens if you would block someone. They completely disappear entirely. That's not exactly discreet and I don't think it should work that way (causes great confusion especially when somebody is talking with a user who blocked you).

Users should be encouraged to first try to talk it out instead of going "Hey, you are friends or associated in a way with somebody I hate, let me block you quick!".
Copy direct link to this Howl
Vogul 4 years, 5 months ago
Oh wait, let me correct myself, as I reread it is actually intended that they completely disappear after they block you. That's a bit much to be honest. If you block someone they should "disappear" for you and that should be it. It shouldn't completely remove you from the site for the blocked people, that doesn't make much sense unless you are planning on trying to divide the users to smaller groups.
Copy direct link to this Howl
Alantheomega 4 years, 5 months ago
This should be handy on furthers situations, TY Kodi
Copy direct link to this Howl
Jaytail 4 years, 5 months ago
I love this idea! I asked Armin if there was a blocking feature a few mounths back its great to see how were evolving in ideas! I think this could be a good idea if someones bothering you! One issue I have found though is,a player insulting ''Im going to block you'' when really you might want to talk and resolve problems....However this is a benefit to wolfing and maybe it will definitely bring out the most in people and not have to ''Take breaks'' to avoid people!
Copy direct link to this Howl
ForeverLostHeroes 4 years, 5 months ago
In certain cases, it is best to resolve things upfront, though if there's a case in which you cannot or should not, feel free to talk to a Wolfing moderator or your own friends for options :3
Copy direct link to this Howl
Koi 4 years, 5 months ago
"You will have to unfriend them to stop receiving their Howl updates on your Pack Howls." i never knew this?? what's a pack howl and where is it. is it on the front page? if so why do i get howls from everyone then
Copy direct link to this Howl
ForeverLostHeroes 4 years, 5 months ago
As you accept friends and get accepted to be on other users friend lists, their "howl" posts will show up on the Map page of Wolfing ^^
Copy direct link to this Howl
DarkClaw 4 years, 5 months ago
Yes, the pack howls are the howls on the map page. You only get them from people in your friend list.
Copy direct link to this Howl
That's a bit extreme, isnt it? O.o I mean, No whispers and no PMs does make sense, but completely being erased out of their world seems like too much for me. Also, what if Someone is blocked by me and i pin someone else? Will they see me pinning that person? Will they see that person being pinned by a ghost? Will they see that person as not pinned?

And if I got it right, If i block someone, i wont see any of their actions either? That will just cause trouble. I have experienced and seen enough times that two users had a little argument, one said that they dont want to talk to the other ever again, and the next day the same two persons happily talk to each other again. Now one will just block the other and they really will never talk again, having no chance to settle the argument, even if it was caused by nothing more than a simple missunderstanding, probably leaving the other person feeling guilty and sad.


So blocking PMs and whispers is good, but completely erasing oneself out of another person's world and that person out of one's own is nothing that can settle Arguments and repair friendships. Those things are achieved by communication, not by avoiding each other forever.
Copy direct link to this Howl
Kat 4 years, 5 months ago
i see your concerns darkie, but believe it or not this was definitely one of the most requested features to add.

i can't confirm anything for the pins, as i havent blocked anyone nor do i plan on doing so, but there is a way to un block the user you have previously blocked. This is referring to you saying: "Now one will just block the other and they really will never talk again, having no chance to settle the argument, even if it was caused by nothing more than a simple missunderstanding, probably leaving the other person feeling guilty and sad."

If both users are smart enough, they will settle an argument even before they think about blocking eachother. Almost everything can be settled with talk, sadly, sometimes it cannot. As a chat site, we do need this. Its up to the users after all if they will block someone or not.
Copy direct link to this Howl
Well I am not against blocking itself, I just think it may be too much to completely "delete" someone from one's own point of view ^^
Copy direct link to this Howl
I'd like to add onto what Kat said. Wolfing Leaders are unable to block, and are also unable to be blocked. If a member was still concerned about the situation, or bothered about being blocked, they could come to a Wolfing Leader and we would work with both parties to potentially solve whatever dispute has happened. Though in the end, blocking may be the best solution for both sides.
Load More Howls